About us

The Observatories of Earth Sciences and Astronomy (OSU, in French) are public scientific institutions dedicated to observation, research, training, and public outreach.

Founded in 1985, the OSU of Grenoble (OSUG) is a School of the Grenoble Alpes University, an observatory attached to CNRS-INSU, and a research federation. More specifically, the 6 research Units, the 5 Associated Research Teams and the 2 joint service units federated in the Observatory of Grenoble (OSUG) engages in scientific studies related to all aspects of the Universe, the Earth and environmental systems, in particular in astrophysics, planetary science, geophysics, geology, climatology, hydrology, glaciology, ecology...

In addition, OSUG manages a number of key Observing systems, which contribute to national and international databases. Finally, OSUG, within the University of Grenoble, plays a major role in defining and running higher education programs and provides initial and continuing education in Earth Sciences, sciences of the Universe and environmental sciences.


Identity Card

  • Acronym : OSUG
  • Date of creation : november the 26th, 1985 (by governmental decree n° 85-1243)
  • Localisation :
    Members : 6 research
  • Members  : 6 research units (ISTerre, IPAG, IGE, LEGI, LECA, Irstea Grenoble), 5 associated research teams (FAME/ESRF, CEN/CNRM, Environnements/PACTE, SigmaPhy/Gipsa-Lab, LAME/LIPhy) and 2 joint service units (UMS OSUG, SAJF)


  • Public institution
  • Fields : Earth sciences, continental land surfaces, ocean and atmosphere, and in astronomy and planetology
  • Missions : observation, research, training, and public outreach (art 2 du décret du 27 juin 1985)
  • Supervisory authorities : UGA | CNRS | IRD | METEO-FRANCE | IRSTEA.
  • Budget 1 M€/year [1]
Plaquette OSUG 2017


Documents available

Documents available
HCERES evaluation (in french) [2] et synthetic report (in french)(septembre 2014)


Since its foundation in 1985 (decree), the Grenoble Observatory has constantly evolved in order to respond to its fundamental missions ; it gradually brings together several laboratories and research teams and various activities related to the field of Earth Sciences, sciences of the Universe and environmental sciences.
Thus, in January 2011, the Observatory expands its scope, 2 research units joined the observatory (LECA and LEGI) as well as of the LAsers, Molecules and Environment research team (LAME) of the LYPHY research unit. The same year, 4 of its member laboratories merge two by two : LGIT and LGCA are coming together to create ISTerre ; LAOG and LPG become IPAG.
In June 2013, the Irstea center in Grenoble, which already has scientific collaborations with OSUG members and involve in the OSUG @ 2020 LabEx, join the Observatory. He will be joined the following year by the Joseph Fourier Alpine Station, officially integrated into the OSUG in June 2014.
More recently the perimeter of the OSUG evolve with the creation of The Institute for Geosciences and Environmental research (IGE) a merging of LGGE and LTHE laboratories.

[1voted annually by the scientific council

[2The High Council for Evaluation of Research and Higher Education (Hcéres) is an independent administrative authority. Hcéres is responsible for evaluating higher education institutions and research bodies.